Categorised | News

Nizar not contesting PAS vice-presidency

KUALA LUMPUR, 26 May 2009: Former Perak Menteri Besar Datuk Seri Mohammad Nizar Jamaluddin will only contest for the post of PAS central committee member at the party’s general assembly next month, and not the vice-presidency.

PAS election committee chairperson Datuk Mustafa Ali, who announced the list of candidates today, said the vice-presidency would see a five-way contest between PAS information chief Datuk Mahfuz Omar, Penang PAS deputy commissioner Dr Mujahid Yusof Rawa, Kelantan PAS deputy commissioner Datuk Nik Mohd Amar Nik Abdullah, PAS Youth chief Salahuddin Ayub and Pahang PAS commissioner Datuk Tuan Ibrahim Tuan Man.       

Mohammad Nizar was previously reported to be undecided whether to contest the vice-president post.

Mustafa said there will be a three-cornered fight for the deputy presidency between incumbent Nasharuddin Mat Isa, PAS vice-president Datuk Husam Musa, and vice-president Mohamad Sabu.

Datuk Seri Abdul Hadi Awang won the presidency unopposed.

A total of 54 candidates, including seven women, are vying for the 18-seat central committee.

Terengganu Deputy PAS commissioner Datuk Harun Taib as well as Datuk Ahmad Yaakob and Datuk Mahfodz Mohamed won unopposed for the posts of Dewan Ulama chief, deputy chief and vice-chief respectively.

The Dewan Muslimat permanent chairman post will see a straight fight between Noraini Hussin and Nor Hashimah Deraman while for the deputy permanent chairperson post, between Faizah Ismail and Wan Hamidani Wan Ahmad.

The contest for the Dewan Muslimat chief post will see a straight fight between Dr Asiah Ali and Nuridah Mohd Salleh.

Meanwhile, incumbent Dewan Muslimat deputy chief Wan Hasrina Wan Hassan is facing a challenge from Rantau Panjang member of parliament Siti Zailah Mohd Yusoff.

Senator Mumtaz Md Nawi won unopposed as the movement’s vice-chief.  

Meanwhile, Nasruddin Hassan, Azman Shapawi Abd Rani and Ahmad Sabki Yusof won unopposed the posts of Youth chief, deputy chief and vice-chief respectively.

Mustafa said the list was announced earlier to facilitate coverage by the media and to allow the candidates to make early preparations.

The results for the Youth, Ulama and Muslimat elections would be known on the evening of 4 June and the central elections on 6 June, he said, adding that candidates would not be allowed to campaign except through the party’s official organ, Harakah.

The Youth general assembly will take place at Taman Melewar on 3 June, Dewan Muslimat at the Shah Alam City Council on June 4 and Dewan Ulama at the Shah Alam Museum on 4 June.

The main general assembly will be held at the Melawati Stadium in Shah Alam on 5 June. — Bernama


Post to Twitter Post to Google Buzz Post to Delicious Post to Digg Post to Facebook Post to StumbleUpon

Tags: , , ,

2 Responses to “Nizar not contesting PAS vice-presidency”

  1. waste says:

    What a waste of rare talent……

  2. kanna says:

    I agree and respect MB Nizar’s decision not to contest any position in the party polls because he should continue in his efforts to realise the aspirations of the people of Perak.

    Most of us in Perak only consider MB Nizar as the true MB of Perak …… and have no time for pretenders…

    I feel as if Perak has lost its independence and is being ruled by an alien government …

    People all over the nation will never understand this feeling unless they face the same misfortune ……. God forbid!

Most Read (Past 3 Months)

Most Comments (Past 3 Months)

  • None found




  • The Nut Graph


Switch to our mobile site