Categorised | News

Ka Siong’s team wins at MCA Youth polls

KUALA LUMPUR, 17 Oct 2008: Candidates aligned to new MCA Youth chief Datuk Dr Wee Ka Siong won in the movement’s election today at the MCA headquarters.

Cardiologist Dr Mah Hang Soon won the deputy chief’s post, the highest post contested in the Youth wing today. Wee had won the leadership uncontested at nominations on 13 Oct.

The former Youth chief, Datuk Liow Tiong Lai had to relinquish it upon exceeding the age limit of 45. Liow is going for the vice-president’s post in the party elections tomorrow.

Mah, 43, polled 1,152 votes over his rival Kapar division chairman Datuk Song Kee Chai, who received 394 votes.

The new MCA Youth leaders
Mah, the Chenderiang assemblyman, is the MCA’s sole representative in the Perak state assembly. He also became Perak MCA Youth chief after beating his challenger Datuk Ling Hee Leong at the state party elections in September.

Six candidates ran for four vice-chief posts, which were won by Yong Chen Leong, Yit Lee Kok, Yoo Wei How and Chin Tung Leong.

The new Youth secretary-general is former youth vice-secretary Datuk Chai Kim Sen, while the deputy is Loh Chew June.

The treasurer’s post and deputy treasurer’s post were both won uncontested by Liew Li Yew and Koh Chin Han, respectively.

Delegates to the Youth assembly also picked 20 Youth central committee members out of 24 aspirants.


Post to Twitter Post to Google Buzz Post to Delicious Post to Digg Post to Facebook Post to StumbleUpon

Comments are closed.

Most Read (Past 3 Months)

Most Comments (Past 3 Months)

  • None found




  • The Nut Graph


Switch to our mobile site