Categorised | News

Dompok and Bumburing retain posts of Upko president and deputy president unopposed

KOTA KINABALU, 30 Sept 2008: Tan Sri Bernard Giluk Dompok and Datuk Seri Wilfred Mojilip Bumburing today retained their posts unopposed, in the United Pasokmomogun Kadazandusun Murut Organisation (Upko), as president and deputy president, respectively.

The results, announced after the party’s pre-council meeting here, also saw Arthur Sen and Datin Dr Jaina Sintian become the new youth and wanita chiefs unopposed, from their previous positions as deputies.

Senator Maijol Mahap, Datuk Dr Ewon Ebin, Datuk Wences Angang and Datuk Tan Yong Gee also retained their posts unopposed as vice-presidents.

Datuk Christine Tibok Vanhouten, who did not defend her position as wanita chief, secured a vice-president’s post unopposed.

Datuk Dr Marcus Mojigoh was nominated for vice-president but he decided not to defend his post by pulling out of the race.

The Upko president is expected to announce the appointments for two more vice-presidents.

Marcus, and Donald Mojuntin — who did not defend his youth chief position — are among those rumoured to be appointed.

Upko will hold its delegates conference from 10 to 12 Oct.

The results for the remaining positions in the youth and wanita movements are expected on 10 Oct, while those for the remaining supreme council positions are expected on 12 Oct. — Bernama


Post to Twitter Post to Google Buzz Post to Delicious Post to Digg Post to Facebook Post to StumbleUpon

Comments are closed.

Most Read (Past 3 Months)

Most Comments (Past 3 Months)

  • None found




  • The Nut Graph


Switch to our mobile site