Categorised | News

Anwar wins in Permatang Pauh with bigger majority

BUKIT MERTAJAM, 26 Aug 2008: Parti Keadilan Rakyat advisor Datuk Seri
Anwar Ibrahim won the Permatang Pauh parliamentary by-election by a majority of
15,671 votes.

Anwar secured 31,195 votes while Barisan Nasional’s Datuk Arif Shah Omar Shah obtained 15,524 votes.

Angkatan Keadilan Insan Malaysia’s Hanafi Mamat secured only 92 votes and
lost his RM15,000 deposit.

The result was announced by returning officer Roslan Yahaya at 10.02pm at
the Aminuddin Baki Hall of the Tuanku Bainun Teacher’s Institute here.

The by-election was held following the resignation of Datuk Seri Dr Wan Azizah Wan Ismail as the constituency’s MP to make way for her husband, Anwar, to contest the seat.

In the 8 March general election, Wan Azizah won the seat by a 13,398 majority. – Bernama

Post to Twitter Post to Google Buzz Post to Delicious Post to Digg Post to Facebook Post to StumbleUpon

Comments are closed.

Most Read (Past 3 Months)

Most Comments (Past 3 Months)

  • None found




  • The Nut Graph


Switch to our mobile site