Categorised | News

Zaki Azmi is JAC chairperson

KUALA LUMPUR, 11 Feb 2009: Chief Justice Tan Sri Zaki Azmi has been appointed chairperson of the Judicial Appointments Commission (JAC), Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi announced today.

Appeals Court President Tan Sri Alauddin Mohd Sheriff, Chief Judge of Malaya Datuk Arifin Zakaria and Sabah and Sarawak Chief Judge Tan Sri Richard Malanjum were appointed as members of the Commission.

“They were appointed based on the posts they hold in the judiciary,” Abdullah said in a statement when announcing the list of members of the Commission under the Judicial Appointments Commission Act 2009.

The Prime Minister also announced the appointment of Federal Court Judge Datuk Zulkefli Ahmad Makinudin as a member of the commission as required under Section 5(1)(e) of the Act, which states that a Federal Court Judge be appointed as a member of the commission.

Others appointed as members of the commission under Section 5(1)(f) are four eminent persons namely former Chief Justice, Tun Abdul Hamid Mohamad, former Chief Judge of Sabah and Sarawak Tan Sri Steve Shim Lip Kiong, former High Court Judge Tan Sri LC Vohrah and former Attorney-General Datuk Seri Ainum Mohd Saaid.

Abdullah said members appointed under Sections 5(1)(e) and 5(1)(f) of the Commission would serve for two years effective Feb 10 until Feb 9, 2011. — Bernama



Post to Twitter Post to Google Buzz Post to Delicious Post to Digg Post to Facebook Post to StumbleUpon

Tags: , , ,

Comments are closed.

Most Read (Past 3 Months)

Most Comments (Past 3 Months)

  • None found




  • The Nut Graph


Switch to our mobile site