Categorised | News

Six take oath as senators

KUALA LUMPUR, 6 May 2009: Five first-time senators and another senator, who had his term extended, took their oath at the Dewan Negara here today.

The new senators were Datuk Dr Yeow Chai Tiam, Eg Fook Heng @ Ng Fook Heng, Zaitun Mat, Mohd Khalid Mohd and Zainun Abu Bakar.

Another senator, Ahmad Hussin, 60, who is representing Perlis since April 2006, had his term extended.

Yeow 56, is representing Negeri Sembilan, Ng, 54, and Zaitun, 52, (both for Pahang), Mohd Khalid, 55, (Perlis), and Zainun, 56, (Terengganu).  

Yeow, who is a doctor by training, is MCA Negeri Sembilan chairperson and MCA Rasah chairperson.

Ng, an MBA holder from the University of Wales, is MCA Pahang cultural bureau chief while Zaitun is Batu 3, Sg Isap Wanita Umno branch chief.

Mohd. Khalid, who is Umno Arau division vice-chief, was fielded to replace Wan Nordin Che Morad, whose term expired on 25 April while Zainun, who is Dungun Wanita Umno division chief, is a businessperson.

In his speech, Dewan Negara president Tan Sri Dr Abdul Hamid Pawanteh urged the senators to embrace change by adopting a paradigm shift in their thinking and ways of looking at reality.

“Do not just rely on the media and websites. We have to make honest and independent intellectual judgements without being saddled by prejudice and ideology,” he said. — Bernama

Post to Twitter Post to Google Buzz Post to Delicious Post to Digg Post to Facebook Post to StumbleUpon

Tags: , ,

One Response to “Six take oath as senators”

  1. jamesloh18 says:

    Seemed like reject shop to me!

Most Read (Past 3 Months)

Most Comments (Past 3 Months)

  • None found




  • The Nut Graph


Switch to our mobile site