Categorised | News

MB and six excos to face privileges committee

IPOH, 14 Feb 2009: Perak Menteri Besar Datuk Dr Zambry Abdul Kadir and six state executive councillors who took their oaths 10 Feb will be referred to the state legislative assembly’s committee of privileges on 18 Feb, said Perak Assembly Speaker V Sivakumar.

Sivakumar, who chairs the committee, said notices to attend had been sent to Zambry, Hamidah Osman, Datuk Ramly Zahari, Dr Mah Hang Soon, Datuk Saarani Mohamad, Mohd Zahir Abdul Khalid and Zainol Fadzi Paharudin through the assembly secretary, Abdullah Antong.

Sivakumar said the decision follows a complaint letter sent to him by Canning assemblyperson Wong Kah Woh on 12 Feb that the seven Barisan Nasional assemblypersons (BN) be referred to the committee for contempt of the state assembly.

“After meeting, the committee found there was basis or prima facie for the complaint. So the committee made a unanimous decision,” Sivakumar told reporters at his office here today.

He said the committee meeting on 12 Feb was attended by himself, Husin Din (Selingsing assemblyman), Chan Ming Kai (Simpang Pulai), Ong Boon Piow (Tebing Tinggi), Loke Chee Yan (Kepayang) and Sum Chok Leng (Bercham) while the sole member from the BN, Temengor state assemblyperson Datuk Hasbullah Osman, could not attend as he had a programme in Gerik.

Hamidah is the chair of the committee for industry, investments, entrepreneur development, ICT, tourism and women affairs; Ramly (infrastructure, public amenities, energy and water); Mah (health, local government, consumer affairs, environment, public transport and non-Muslim affairs); Saarani (information, rural development, poverty eradication, plantations, and welfare); Mohd Zahir (education, higher education, science and technology); and Zainol Fadzi (arts, culture, youth and sports).

Asked about the punishment that can be meted out to the menteri besar and the excos, Sivakumar said the committee would only carry out investigation and table a report and proposal at the next assembly sitting.

“A decision will be made in the assembly,” he said.

Sivakumar declined to reveal the contents of Wong’s complaint but newspapers today reported that Wong in his letter alleged that the appointment process of Zamby as menteri besar and his exco lineup had violated the Perak state constitution.

 Meanwhile, at a news conference at Wisma DAP here, state DAP chairperson Datuk Ngeh Koo Ham said Sivakumar had the power to issue a warrant of arrest for the menteri besar and the six excos if they did not appear before the privileges committee.

He said suspending the seven BN assemblypersons was among punishment that could be suggested by the committee. — Bernama


Post to Twitter Post to Google Buzz Post to Delicious Post to Digg Post to Facebook Post to StumbleUpon

Tags: , , , , , ,

One Response to “MB and six excos to face privileges committee”

  1. abubaker says:

    People who do bad to their parents cannot claim they are good boys or girls. Assemblypersons who contempt the assembly earn no right to lead.

Most Read (Past 3 Months)

Most Comments (Past 3 Months)

  • None found




  • The Nut Graph


Switch to our mobile site