Categorised | News

Anwar to be sworn in as MP tomorrow

KUALA LUMPUR, 27 Aug 2008: Parti Keadilan Rakyat (PKR) advisor Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim will be sworn in Member of Parliament for Permatang Pauh tomorrow.

Dewan Rakyat Tan Sri Pandikar Amin Mulia made the announcement before starting today’s session of the Dewan Rakyat.

"The result for the Permatang Pauh by-election is already out and the decision favours Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim, so he will be sworn in tomorrow," he said.

He said the House would be informed of the arrangements for the swearing-in later.

PKR retained Permatang Pauh after Anwar won the seat with a 15,671-vote majority in the by-election yesterday.  

Anwar, 61, garnered 31,195 votes while the Barisan Nasional’s (BN) Datuk Arif Shah Omar Shah, 51, received 15,524. Hanafi Mamat of Angkatan Keadilan Insan Malaysia (Akim) Hanafi Mamat, 61, lost his deposit after polling only 92 votes. There were 447 spoilt votes.

The seat was vacated by PKR president Datuk Seri Dr Wan Azizah Wan Ismail on  31 July to enable Anwar, to contest. – Bernama

Post to Twitter Post to Google Buzz Post to Delicious Post to Digg Post to Facebook Post to StumbleUpon

Comments are closed.

Most Read (Past 3 Months)

Most Comments (Past 3 Months)

  • None found




  • The Nut Graph


Switch to our mobile site