Categorised | News

20 symbols for independent candidates

ALOR SETAR, 24 March 2009: The Election Commission (EC) has prepared 20 symbols to be chosen by independent candidates contesting the Bukit Selambau by-election.

Kedah EC director Zainal Abidin Zakaria said balloting would be held if more than one candidate wanted to use the same symbol.

“The candidates are not allowed to use symbols other than those prepared by   the Election Commission,” he told Bernama here today.

The symbols available include key, telephone, bus and tiger head.

The by-election was called following the resignation of Kedah state exco member V Arumugam of Parti Keadilan Rakyat (PKR) on 8 Feb.

Nomination has been fixed for 29 March with polling on 7 April. Ten candidates have said they would be contesting the Bukit Selambau state seat.

Zainal Abidin said Barisan Nasional (BN) candidate Datuk S Ganesan has paid the RM5,000 deposit to contest and another RM3,000 deposit for posters.

PKR candidate S Manikumar was expected to pay the deposits soon.

“The deposits will only be returned to candidates who withdraw before nomination closes at Sekolah Menengah Teknik II, Sungai Petani on Sunday.”

He advised the candidates to abide by the law and to campaign cleanly to avoid tension. — Bernama


Post to Twitter Post to Google Buzz Post to Delicious Post to Digg Post to Facebook Post to StumbleUpon

Tags: , , ,

Comments are closed.

Most Read (Past 3 Months)

Most Comments (Past 3 Months)

  • None found




  • The Nut Graph


Switch to our mobile site